How to feed suet to GS Woodpeckers, but not squirrels?

My garden backs onto woods so naturally we have a lot of birds but with this comes a lot of squirrels. There are so many and they are such a problem here that I have to feed all of the food from squirrel proof feeders. My question is, does anyone have any ideas for how I can feed suet to the GS Woodpeckers without feeding the squirrels? I have a fat ball feeder with a cage around it but obviously this keeps woodpeckers out. I did try using a squirrel peanut buster feeder with suet pellets in it, however I’ve found that these just get stuck in the feeder where birds can’t reach them and they go mouldy. Any ideas would be appreciated. 

Many thanks 

• I'm no expert but you could try using hot suet, which is supposed to burn mammals mouths but be alright for birds. But I've never tried it so I can't guarantee it will work.
  • I had a similar problem . My solution was to get a feeding station (metal pole with hooks to hang feeders) also a baffle dome (like a plastic lampshade) placed half way up the pole so the squirrels can't get up but also have to place the pole away from launch pads for the squirrels lol. All works fine now and squirrels get nothing

You can see mines in this pic to give you an idea. I also use a parasol base so I can easily move the feeding station around the garden

• I'll second Linda's suggestion, though our feeding station isn't on a flat base, its held in place by four spiked legs in the ground, and also with a lampshade to stop the squirrels getting to the feeders.

But beware, those pesky squirrels are nifty and intelligent things, they will stop at nothing to try and get on those feeders, often being able to jump around 1.5 mtrs high and from something around 2 mtrs away, though I had one that managed almost a 3 mtr leap onto the feeding station!

Tis link is a short video showing the squirrel leaping on to the feeding station