How to help a single parent (blackcap)?

The other day a female blackcap crashed into our window and landed dead on the balcony with a caterpillar in her beak. We have seen the male a lot recently and he seems to be going and coming very regularly from the trees/shrubs at the side of our house. We haven't yet seen proof of a nest or young, but I'm worried he may now be having to feed a nest of chicks on his own. I saw a previous question about helping a coal tit with single parenting and mealworms were suggested - is this the best thing to offer our blackcaps?

Btw I'm very new to bird watching (and new to our house with a big overgrown garden - we moved in 5 months ago) so very grateful for any advice!

• Thank you all very much for your replies! Unfortunately since writing I have hardly seen the blackcap, certainly not going back and forth from the same place as he was at the weekend. The idea of there being young around was based on having seen him doing that repeatedly and the fact that the female had a caterpillar in her beak when we found her (not sure how significant that is though).

@Robbo I have to confess I am not actually in the UK but in France (outskirts of Paris) - I'm not yet aware of anything like the RSPB community here though.
    I'm pretty sure the blackcap has been heard here for at least a month - not sure if that is long enough? At any rate, I'm now wondering if my initial idea about the young was completely wrong...
  • I will contact a friend in South of France who will likely be able to suggest groups for you to join but is also good to hear from you on here!