Where have the Sparrows & Dunnocks gone...?

Hello,

Over the last 2-3 weeks I've noticed that there hardly seems to be any House Sparrows or Dunnocks visiting my garden and I was wondering if it's common just around this time of the year that they are 'busy' with feeding in other areas?  They have been the prominent variety in my Garden up until now but in the last few weeks I've noticed a lot more Goldfinches visiting and I was also thinking that maybe that's put the Sparrows off, although I wouldn't have thought that they would have a problem with Goldfinches.

• Morning Mark,
    Here, House Sparrows disappeared for a long while (as they do each year) a few months ago, only to reappear in numbers a few weeks ago, only to disappear again.
    Here at least (Switzerland) this is a fairly common pattern.

Dave
  • In reply to Dave - CH:

Hi Dave,

That's interesting. I'm new to all of this so it's all rather puzzling and I'd like to understand why this happens. I think I need to do some reading up on bird behaviours as I was wondering if it was something that I'd done to put them off.

I have noticed that a local cat has started appearing much more so I'm wondering if they see my garden as unsafe! However, Mr. Blackbird is carrying on as normal with his evening trip.

Mark ( England )
  • At this time of year there should be plenty of foraging opportunities so they may be off in other gardens or hedgerows enjoying the autumn bounty

Cin J

• In reply to Mark_G:

Hi Mark,
    If you're new to this, this is a good place for you, I think. Full of people (almost all much more experienced than I am) who'll be happy to advise and share.