Which swift box designs are most successful?

1. For next year's swift season I want to install a few swift boxes on the gable end ( sloping eaves) of my property. It  is south facing but is sheltered somewhat by the roof. However I am getting a bit confused on which design of swift box to use (there are so many). Due to the sloping eaves the box won't be able to be tucked under the eaves like a flat eave would so it would either be mounted directly on the wall or as close as possible to the eaves. Does anyone have an idea on the best design for my situation and box that would be most successful in attracting swifts. Many thanks. 
  • Morning Swift,

I've no expert advice to give (as I'm not an expert), but here's what I know having talked to a few who are in the know.

We have a similar situation to yours and have placed boxes under the eaves. We've the advantage of having helpfully placed windows and ledges.

We bought our boxes directly from BirdLife Switzerland (that's where we live). A local engineer and swift enthusiast also makes boxes. The two designs are almost identical I understand.

Re attracting Swifts, our boxes have been up for two breeding seasons and not a sniff. As an acquaintance at BirdLife Switzerland explained, Swifts are conservative birds, and for them to use boxes, they need to alter their mental picture of what and what does not constitute a nesting site. So, it's not just the right-sized hole (which is, I think, fairly standard on most designs, although I can't remember what it is... 78mm by something or other...).

We were recently told to "dress" the boxes. So, place a few leaves and some dry grass around and a few stems of grass sticking out. This tells the birds that this is a nest (or that House Sparrows have already used it, so it must be a nest). I've done that, but probably far too late in the season. We'll see if that has some effect next year.