RSPB Middleton Lakes Sun 20th Oct 2019

The weather finally relented, but more importantly, the original plans for the weekend were thankfully thwarted, so Saturday's tasks were cancelled, meaning Sunday's tasks could be moved to Saturday, leaving Sunday free to play...

The weather generally was dry, sunny and cloudy, and definitely a bit nippy around the gills.

The waterfowl, apart from the coots, some teal, wigeon, tufted, the swans, canada geese, mallard and all the other usual inhabitants were abound, even the little egrets seemed to be quite plentiful, with a but.

The but being, they were restless, or perhaps more likely hungry and restless.

They were wading, as they do, but not finding food, their beaks never broke water, so I can only guess the food was not around for them to take. If the water was cold, then fish would probably be seeking deeper waters.

However, interesting that was to watch, I do enjoy watching animal and bird behaviour, but I'm far from an expert, the feeding stations were busy with the usual small birds, as you wil lsee from the photos below.

I'd spread a little food on the bench along side me to see if I could tempt the birds close.

After a very short while, it worked, especially for the suet pellets....

Even more surprisingly, even the blue and great tits took the challenge on!

What was very surprising, there were two robins among the trees, wanting to get and have a feed, but neither would take the chance!

But the nuthatch never gave up...

I wonder what was going through this ones mind as it looked up at me?

Not the best nuthatch in flight photo, but  the opportunities were rare and had to be grabbed when I could....

Yep, I managed to get a photo of a blue tit looking like it had been shot from a cannon.

Well, it had be shot be a Canon, a 5D MkIV to be specific and a 24-105 lens....

A male chaffinch, standing proud

Never a dull day watching nature, there's always something to see.