• Mega Frog??

Over the last few years we have seen some truly enormous Marsh Frogs out on the marsh and these brutes tend to 'feel' different to the more usual ones we come across. They are often much broader across the back that the normal ones, with less pointed snouts and a distinctively upright posture as they always seem to sit back on their haunches and not lay flat like a Marsh Frog. We have speculated about whether they could…

• Snakelet....

Now I would like to try and kid everyone that I am a fab photographer and managed to creep up on this six inch long baby Grass Snake and using all my extensive fieldcraft got a superb shot as it rested on a conveniently placed rhubarb leave...

However, the truth will out and I will confess to the fact that it was in fact very recently deceased and therefore became the perfect model for an impromptu shoot....

• Bumbles on the Iceplants

Our glorious bank of Sedum outside the visitor centre has been attracting a host of different bumblebees, honeybees, wasps and butterflies.  I always get a headache when trying to sort out bees so have despatched some images to be sorted out for me... more to follow.

Anyway, as you may be aware the decline of the honeybee has been blamed on a virus carried by the Varroa mite. On this picture of a Buff-tailed Bumblebee…

• Dozy Darters

There are still plenty of Ruddy and Common Darters around as well as hunting packs of Migrant Hawkers. With a bit of patience you can get pretty close to the darters as they warm and wait on the handrails and boardwalks. In a good year they sometimes survive even through to the first week in November!

Migrant Hawker (Neil Phillips)

Common Darters (Matthew Foakes) 

• Shop Stocktake tomorrow

Just a quick note to let you know that the Shop will be closed tomorrow (28th) from 1pm for our Stock Take. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

• I spy with my little eye....

something beginning with G...