• Guest blog - Matt Hopton Voluntary Warden RSPB Oronsay

I arrived on Oronsay at the beginning of December for a 3 month stint as a voluntary warden. I am a mature Environmental Science undergraduate in my final year and I applied to come to Oronsay to gain valuable practical experience with a wildlife conservation...
  • Ringed Barnacle Geese

Each month over the winter we do an all island goose count, well everywhere we can see from the road in a day. We are counting Greylag, Greenland White-fronted and Barnacle Geese and while looking through a telescope we are on the lookout for any readable...
  • Carl Reavey

Everyone at RSPB Islay is deeply saddened by the sudden death of Carl Reavey, of Bruichladdich distillery. Carl worked with us developing our partnership with The Botanist Foundation, but his contribution to so many facets of Islay life is difficult to...
  • Islay twite project

So the Islay twite project is up and running. Earlier this month we managed to catch and colour ring 87 of the Oa's winter twite flock. For a number of years, The Oa reserve has attracted a large wintering flock to the specially grown wild bird...
  • Islay Blog – Angharad Ward

Absolutely disgusting weather out here on Islay today, so I took pity on Angharad (our residential volunteer) and unlocked the office door to let her in out of the cold for an hour or so. Long enough to write this splendid account of her time with us...
  • Coll Volunteering 8th November 2017

Another update on some activities over the last month. With all the wet and windy weather in recent times, the track around the office and yard area where we drive the vehicles had become a mud sludge area. So with shovels in hand, we dug out all the...
  • Twite news

Last winter saw a record flock of twite using our purpose grown crops on The Oa reserve. Over 1000 birds had arrived by mid November, feasting on the seed pods of fodder radish and creating an amazing spectacle. See January's blog http:/...