Well here's part 2 on ways to give nature a home in your garden. Remember, this comes from a complete novice at gardening  - but the information is out there. The internet is full of wonderful ideas - so now that you may have a little more time on your hands - what better time to give some of those ideas a go. 

In the first blog we looked at feeders for birds, placement, cleaning tips etc  and remember that filling your garden with flowering plants, shrubs and trees will also provide shelter and food in the form of insects, spiders and grubs and a whole host of creepy crawlies. I've even managed to get hold of a few flowering plants myself after admitting to the lack of them in my first blog. Some supermarkets are selling a small selection but look online to see if your local nursery can deliver - great to continue to support local businesses if we can - it's tough on everyone.

So once we've encouraged all these wonderful creatures into our gardens  - these too need a bit of care and attention. How about providing a bug house/hotel in your garden. In fact even if you just have a balcony, it is possible to do this on a small scale. 

Safe hideaways can be hard for wildlife to find in some gardens - so what better use for your garden waste & odds and ends. They can be a good shelter for small mammals, amphibians and even hedgehogs too if you build this into your design.

You can make your bug house at any time of year but you may find more suitable materials in Autumn. 

Here's some ideas for what you can use:

Old pallets and blocks (for the main structure), straw, moss, dry leaves, wood chips, old terracotta pots/tiles, bricks with holes, old logs, bark, pine cones, canes and hollow stems of plants.

You don't have to make a big stack, although there are wonderful examples on line - in fact they can often make a lovely looking garden feature. My kids made these very simple designs at one of our Wild Day Out days at the Avalon Marshes Centre a couple of years ago.