Beginner needs to find Beckingham Marshes please help!

Hello I have just joined this site as I want to start to watch more birds. I enjoy the pleasure they give me daily in our tiny garden and would like to "spread my wings" birding wise. I am a total beginner with camera (A beginner in photography too!) So would like to come to Beckingham Marshes sometime and hopefully meet people with more experience and learn more about the local wildlife. I live near Misterton and have friends in Beckingham but do not know it very well. It is not far to come. Do you have meetings?

Hope to hear from someone soon as have no idea where to go and not too keen on going alone.

Thanks for reading this 

• Hello and thank you for your posting.

Luckily for you, Beckingham Marshes is just around the corner from you!  However, being one of the RSPB's newest nature reserves, it is still in the development stages.

If you look back through some of last year's blog postings, you'll see how well it's been developing.

Unfortunately, there is currently no public access on site, apart from the public footpath that runs along the western perimeter.  We will be creating a circular route around the less sensitive parts of the site, as soon as we've got the habitats right.

If you would like any further information about Beckingham Marshes, including future volunteering opportunities, then e-mail me on:

paul.bennett@rspb.org.uk

In the meantime, if you have any transport available, there are two very good RSPB nature reserves quite nearby to you; RSPB Old Moor and RSPB Blacktoft Sands.  There is also information on the RSPB's website about joining local groups (under 'Things to do, and Local Groups').  I believe the Doncaster Local Members Group would be your nearest.

Thanks again,

Paul

• Hi Topsy10