First visit

I had a wonderful few hours at Arne today. What a fantastic place. Staff helpful and friendly. manage to see 2 lesser spotted woodpeckers. saw many other birds.I am new to this, so I am not familiar with the variety that I saw.

Arne is a fantastic place and I look forward to my next visit.

Only one gripe the other  visiters were rather reluctant just to say hello.as I passed them. This really surprised me. Put me off little bit.

Mollyy

• Lesser-spotted?? Never seen one at Arne - lucky you!

The other visitors were probably just jealous. :-)

• Don't let that put you off Molly it happens at various times in lots of places and on other days lots of people will speak to you at Arne,think it is normally a very friendly place.By the way do you know that they have free guided walks on every Wednesday unless they have altered their policy and also in my opinion Winter time at Arne is even better than summer.

Pleased you had a nice time.  

• If they dont speak perhaps they are not worthy of speaking too!..enjoy your visits and dont let others annoy you..plenty to see and do to keep you occupied..Doms always free for a chat and a tour when he's in Dorset..:-)

• Had my first vist a couple of week ends ago now, had a couple of people say hello  and said hello to a a couple of people . Did feel a bit strange walking round with a camera though, hopefully should be at Arne some time this week-end.

• Former Contributor
    Former Contributor 23/05/2012 05:52 in reply to Woody

Hi Molly, I am glad you had a great first visit and don't hesitate to make a return visit. Try coming along to one of our wednesday walk at 10 am. They are a great way to learn more about the reserve!

• Former Contributor
    Former Contributor 23/05/2012 05:57 in reply to Woody