Nature on Your Doorstep Community

A place to learn, share and inspire others to create a haven for you and for wildlife.

Sign In or Register to join the conversation

Blue tits: How long between nest building and egg laying?

Hello,

Is there a typical standard time frame between nest building and egg laying or does it varying significantly?

I have a nestbox with a camera installed. A pair of blue tits have been frenetically building a nest in the box for the past week (from 14 March). As its quite early (according to online sources) for the nest to be built I'm intrigued to know if they are likely to wait several weeks before laying or if laying starts soon after the nest is built? Or does laying start soon after a nest is built regardless of whether the nest was built earlier than usaul?

I'm quite new to this so I'm so excited about the fact that my nestbox has become a home for a pair of BTs Slight smile

Thanks in advance for your help

Matt

• Hello Matt, I have attached a link that will give you some facts regarding blue tits. I think that wherever we live they build, nest etc at the same time. Just now they are investigating the boxes and choosing which one to use, they will take in materials but I am unsure if they wait until a bit later to actually start mating, laying etc (as it does say April/May). I think they can start earlier. It will be exciting watching them with your camera, keep us posted as to what happens. If you can add some photos or videos, that would be great to see, you can get help if you need it, just ask. Good luck.

ypte.org.uk/.../breeding

• Hello Catlady :)

Thank you for sharing your knowledge, I'd love to share some footage with you and the community. How do I go about uploading it to this thread / forum?