Nature on Your Doorstep Community

A place to learn, share and inspire others to create a haven for you and for wildlife.

Sign In or Register to join the conversation

Bluetit nest box

Hi there,

I am a newbie and a complete novice although I do like to watch and feed the garden birds.

We've had a little nestbox up for around a year and it has recently become home to a pair of bluetits who have been coming and going building their nest for about a week now.

Just looking for some advice. My garden is quite small and I have 2 young very noisy children and with the current situation we are trying to make the most of the lovely weather and use the garden without scaring our new visitors away. Also my washing line is rather close to the nesting box.

Every morning I see the female (i think) coming and going building her nest. But by afternoon when the kids are let loose and we are using the garden she disappears. 

Any advice? I really dont want to frighten them away but also need to spent time in the garden. Is there certain times of the day that we should avoid the garden? Sorry if i sound silly, just looking for advice Slight smile

Claire