RSPB Scotland volunteer reaches the final of the Sunday Mail Young Scot Awards 2022!

Young people for nature’s future: Murdo from Skye

Interview by Eilidh Summers, RSPB Scotland

The Sunday Mail Young Scot Awards have been running for 16 years – celebrating the young people who have done fantastic things for their community. This year, RSPB Scotland is delighted that our Corncrake Calling volunteer, Murdo MacGillivray, is a finalist for the Environment Award.

Murdo filming sheep shearing on the west coast of Scotland and ski touring in the Cairngorms. Photos by Ewen Jeffrey and Denise MacGillivray.       

Murdo has thrown his time and effort into the protection of corncrakes, a species of high conservation concern in the UK. On his homeplace of Skye, Murdo has worked to improve and monitor habitats for corncrakes – digging, strimming, spreading lime, and building walls and fences. In addition, his technical knowledge and self-taught software skills were essential to create and process the drone footage for habitat monitoring.

Picture from drone camera surveying corncrake habitat. Photo by Murdo MacGillivray.

As a young person from Skye, Murdo has always had a strong connection to nature. “I grew up on a croft when I was wee. The environment, agriculture and nature, were all around me.” Nature is a big part of growing up on an island, and this reflects on his hobbies and interests. Murdo enjoys many outdoor activities like canoeing, kayaking, and climbing, but his favourite of all is cycling – both road cycling and mountain biking. Murdo is studying in Aberdeen, which has a cycling club with more opportunity for social, and competitive cycling. “I like going as fast as I can, and there’s more outdoor competitive stuff in Aberdeen”. Despite this, Skye is his true home; “I like the city but it’s not what I’m used to – I’d rather go back to the island”.

Isle of Skye, Inner Hebrides, Highland, Scotland, UK, April. Photo by Mike Read.