Hello

Knowing where to start with this blog is a bit of a challenge. I’m aware that the silence has been deafening from Loch Garten since Jen posted her final farewell from the Osprey Team 2015 and for that I apologise, but technical challenges have thwarted me, so please bear with me...

I’m Jess Tomes and I’m the newbie here at Abernethy. Well, not exactly the newbie, but more of that in a bit. I’m just chuffed to bits to be able to say that since the beginning of September I’ve been in the new role of Visitor Operations Manager, not just for the Loch Garten Osprey Centre, but for the whole of Abernethy National Nature Reserve. To say that I’m delighted by this turn of events is understatement of the year. I’ve dreamt about working in this, my favourite place on the planet, for twenty years (I kid you not) and to think that I’m sat here typing this to you gives me such a thrill.

My relationship with Abernethy and the ospreys started in 1995 and though I didn’t know it then, it would change my life forever. It was a scorcher of a summer and I volunteered at the Osprey Centre for the first time in June of that year – loving it so much that I returned in the August for another week. Fast forward a year and I was back again for another couple of weeks in 1996. It’s difficult to put into words how I felt about the reserve, the ospreys, the team of staff and amazing volunteers – all I knew was that Richard Thaxton had the best job in the world and I was more inspired than I had ever been. It was then that I decided that the RSPB was the organisation I wanted to work for. Oh, and there was one more significant life event in those first two years, in that I met my husband, Dan, who was working at the centre as an Information Assistant in 1995 and as the “Osprey Warden” as we called the team leader then, in 1996. We’ve now been married for 17 years.