Help in attracting Goldfinches

Hi all I’m new to bird watching. I put out a pole feeder with 3 hanging feeders 4 months ago. One feeder is sunflower hearts, the other is suet balls and last one is nyger seeds. 

The sunflower hearts are eaten by robins, blue tits occ and the occ sparrow. The suet ball is the most popular with blue tits and robins coming everyday. 

My question is why hasn’t my nyger feeder been touched by goldfinches?? 

I see goldfinches at the front of my house on the green near road so why won’t they come in my backyard?  I’m so desperate to see them but no luck yet. I do have a big garden with conifers all the way round, we have recently planted a tree. Also I’ve planted sunflowers, marigold and teasel. Not sure what else I can do. Any suggestions. 

Rosa

• Thank you for your prompt reply.
    It was teasel plants that I planted around 3 weeks ago so it will take some time before they flower.
    We have a couple of neighbors down the road and they have goldfinches and other species all the time, I’m so jealous Pensive I guess I have to be patient
    Thanks
    Rosa
  • Apart from the food, Goldfinches are particularly wary, so make sure the feeder is close to cover, ie near the surrounding trees on one side. If it is plum in the middle of the garden they may not like the exposed position. Similarly, make sure it is sited away from things that make it approachable by cats like a fence or shed.