I had a cunning plan

Hi Observers,

I did have a brilliant, in my opinion, plan about putting up bird boxes for the micro community of which I am a resident.

This would also be beneficial for the wider community including children. I gained permission to put up as many as

was practical, with a stipulation that no screws, nails or bolts would be used which will damage the trees. Fair enough.

This are 30 established trees in the middle of a village.

This was in late 2019 and everything was looking good to go to the first stage. Raising funds.

Then in March 2020 something happened. The rug was tugged from under my feet.

Fast forward to December 2021. I had to start again. Fortunately I got permission again. That is where I am now.

So, my reason for tapping into your extensive knowledge is this. What next?

My initial thoughts were to A) Raise funds to pay for them (the bird boxes). B) Find someone of an organisation to make them (including schools).  C) Put them up.

Taking it at one stage at a time, as this is a longer term project, how do I raise funds?

Does anyone reading this have experience of getting money? I will greatly appreciate their help.

My thoughts are do I establish a not for profit group? A charity? A club? A resident association? Another? How do I do this?

Can any one of you help or point me in the right direction please?

Hopefully,

Hooky.

• A number of our club members worked with both schools and scouts to make the boxes. They made up kits for the youngsters to assemble under supervision and then supervised them to put them in place. This was followed by asking the children to record the box usage. This was in our little area in N Yorkshire but I'm sur other clubs may help in other areas good luck with the project.
  • Hi Seaman,
    Now you have come up with something I had not even thought of. Thank you. I had thought about the construction and also wondered if the birds would be put off by painting them (the bird boxes).