Stint identification?

Someone told me there might be Temminck's Stint in this flock - at Cley marshes a couple of weekends ago..

Is that right? it's the ones with the pale legs, I think.

Karen B Suffolk
  • I'm no expert but I would say that everything on there is too big for a Stint.

----------

Cheers,

Bob

My Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/bobs_retired_now/

• That's what I was thinking, too. Stints are much smaller than Teal so I don't think you've got any in that photo. If you mean the ones with yellow-orange legs, then I suspect they are all Ruff, although as only the underside is visible, I'm prepared to be corrected.

Nige   Flickr

• Thanks for the information, Bob and Nigel.

Here is another pic which I think contains the same birds in the foreground:

Karen B Suffolk
  • Looking more closely, they all seem to have a white ring at the base of the beak - here is a cropped version (a bit blurry, sorry!)

thanks

Karen

Karen B Suffolk
  • That picture shows Ruff, the white circle at the base of the bill is a good id feature too. I didn't like to say last night as I was only looking at the original picture on a phone screen, but could at least tell they weren't small enough for Stint. - also I don't think that you would expect to see a large group of Stints, let alone a large group of Temincks. I've not seen many Stints myself but the most I have seen together is a pair. Nice flight picture though

----------

Cheers,

Bob

• Thanks very much, Bob - I'm learning all the time, thanks to the lovely people on this forum!

I was a bit confused at first, since In my bird book (RSPB Britain's Birds), the Ruff photos look brownish, whereas these look more grey to me - but I think the lighting/time of day affects things a lot. The book definitely mentions a pale base to the bill for males in their first winter - which is very interesting!

Birdfieldguide.co.uk had a very similar in flight photo to mine, identifying them as Ruff...

Karen B Suffolk