Rooks

Will rooks attack one of their own?

Thankyou.

• Hi Vivienne, being part of the crow family Rooks are very social and intelligent birds. I'm not an expert but I believe they have been know to attack their own species, particularly a sick or injured bird. I have witnessed vicious attacks between Magpies which are part of the same covidae family so although its not something you would see every day I think the answer would be a tentative yes. Jackdaws can attack other Jackdaws and their offspring. especially during breeding season when prime nesting spots can be fought over, as you may have seen a year or two back on BBC Springwatch program. Fights could also be over a mate or food as well. Once again I'm no expert, these are just my own opinions from what I have witnessed myself.

• We were very sad about the rook, Draig Du. He ended up in the wildlife garden, and was calling to his family, and they were calling back. Eventually they stopped calling. Draig had some very narrow escapes with a local cat, very narrow, but between us and our neighbours, and some other young folk who walk through our area, Draig managed to escape harm. Draig became a personality, and we all looked out for him. We organised him perches, and a feeding station in the tree,(a silver birch in the wildlife garden) all the while not encouraging him to get to familiar, as the plan was to get him strong enough to fend for himself. Well he used to visit 2-3 times a day, and got stronger and stronger and flew higher and higher, albeit landing somewhat clumsily!!! But he was making headway. He shared the tree to some extent with the blue tits etc., but never any problems.