Blue Tits

We have a Blue Tit bird box, which is used each year.  Normally about now, we clean it out.  However, the Blue Tits are visiting the bird box, and appear to be spending time inside.

It is too late in the year for another brood, and we don't want to clean it out, incase they are taking up residence again in the box.  We have not looked inside as we do not want to disrupt or disturb them. Does it have to be cleaned each year?

• I'm no expert, but I say would wait until you're satisfied they're no longer using the nest box.

If they do have another brood, they will be more than welcoming the undisturbed access, especially as the nights will be getting colder. In the interim, just enjoy watching them going about their business and take comfort in the fact they must like the nest box.

• Hi Vivienne,     It is very rare a Blue Tit would have a 2nd brood (unless the first one failed early on) and as you have indicated, certainly not this late in the season.    Often birds such as blue tits will go into boxes to hunt for insects such as spiders and may use the boxes to roost in particularly when the weather gets very cold.   Personally, I do clean the nest boxes out every end of season at this time of year and would suggest it was better to take the boxes down now, give them a good clean with hot soapy water,  thoroughly rinse them out and air dry them out before replacing them.    Best if you can get them up before end October so they can roost in them should the weather turn much colder.     I doubt you would be disturbing them at this time of year, more likely they are just seeking out insects and will find plenty of those elsewhere and around the under eaves of the house or shed, etc.    

• Yes, the box has been used from the moment it went up. It is one of those wood/concrete ones, has been excellent, and still in top condition.