Pigeons visiting garden

I have been feeding the birds in my garden for a couple of years or so now. The little sparrows feed of the feeder & love the seed. There can be 10 sparrows flying around it sometimes. The last few months I have also started feeding a couple of pigeons as one is lovely looking (white with black speckles)...I do love all pigeons but I am guilty of feeding this one because of his looks. Unfortunately it went from feeding 2 pigeons to about 15 or more. I'm sure they must have bird meetings to tell eachother where the food is. Although I am an adult I am living with my parents & they are going mad at the amount of pigeons as they say they will cause rats. They were fine when it was just two or three pigeons. To be fair I can understand this as it's a small garden and terraced housing so I can quite see the neighbours eventually complaining. I'm not intentionally encouraging pigeons and I only put a small handful of seed down when I see 'my' pigeon but then the others swoop down. They also sit under the feeder waiting for the smaller birds to drop seed. I also think they might be roosting in the neighbours solar panels so maybe it's not my fault? Now my parents have removed the bird feeder & insisted on me to stop feeding the birds. I have also spotted a brown rat in the garden  (I don't think they have spotted it yet). I'm in a dilemma as I feel so guilty not feeding any of the birds and I hate the bad press that pigeons get. At the same time now that I have spotted the rat am I doing right thing by completely removing all food sources?