Bridge camera recommendation for complete beginner

• In reply to Whistling Joe:

One aspect of smart phone photography I need to investigate is their incorporation of Artificial Intelligence to assist users taking a really good shot. I've read that camera manufacturers are having to up their game as the advances in smart phone photography (especially with AI) means that people can take better photographs with them than with a bridge camera.

Not sure how true this is, but it should be interesting if these AI algorithms make their way into bridge and thence DSLR cameras.

In the meantime, I find the Auto everything both a blessing and a curse. I certainly have lots of fun and games trying to persuade cameras of all flavours to focus on what I want it to focus on.  I have tried manual focus, but I don't think I have set the dioptrics up properly; I wear glasses for one, plus daughter and memsahib uses the cameras and reset the dioptrics.

I used the cameras as how I reckon 99% of people would use them: hand held, minimum of set up (basically auto), and point-n-shoot. Which is pretty much how I use them.

It has taken 16 years for me to start to investigate the other modes, as I have been quite happy with auto produced photos all that time. (Here's on for you. My first bridge camera was a Nikon 880: 3 megapixels, 2.5x (38-95mm) zoom, costing £350 HALF PRICE!!!!!!!! Never again did I buy such an expensive camera until my 800d)

I'm not sure if I mentioned but I used jpegs from the Canon 800d for a fair comparison with the bridge cameras. RAW would have contained even greater detail, with the potential to enhance images even further.