Good morning all. I’m new to this, and looking for advice please. Ive a box with the nest still in from last year. I was going to clean it out but have got a blue tit roosting every night in it. Would blue tits use the old nest or do I have to clean it?

Old nest.

• Good morning PB1, welcome to the forum...not sure am the best person to answer but I had a look on the site about cleaning nest boxes as you can see in the link below

www.rspb.org.uk/.../cleaning-nestboxes

I'm sure it will be fine to do once the wee yin leaves in the morning to find food as it needs done very soon before nesting season starts again.

The forum is a little quiet the now but hopefully someone with more knowledge than me shall be along soon to help further ;-)
  • I completely agree with Linda. The sooner the better :o)
  • Thank you both, box cleaned out, sealed up and camera back up and running- fingers crossed for new tenants!!
  • Hi PB1, I was going to say the same, safe enough to clean it out just now in daytime when the birds are not in the nest. If you had not cleared it out, they would have brought in fresh material to make a new nest. Fingers crossed they use the box and as you have a camera, hopefully we can follow the progress.