House sparrows

Hi there everyone I've just become a member of RSPB. I wanted to ask does anyone know about house sparrows. When I put out my feeders last year there were 6 house sparrows & 4 goldfinches that came & stayed at my feeders. There are now over 25 to 30 house sparrows & roughly 16 to 20 goldfinches who feed. Over the last week or so the goldfinches are feeding although not as much throughout the summer but there is no sign of the house sparrows. I'm new to all this so don't know if they would be moulting or if its too late. Just wondering what has happened to them. I live in a town in Northern Ireland. Any help or information will be greatly appreciated thanks 

• Hi, I'm not sure exactly where they nest at night but they're usually in bushes about 3 houses away during the day, don't even see them there. They still came to feed in the summer months though not as frequently, only in last week or so there's no sign of them.
  • I would usually hear & see them daily flying back & forth from bushes to feeders but they're not there. Just strange because they've fed of me all year & goldfinches still there
  • We have feeders here and two house sparrow nests in the eaves of next doors house, at a distance of 10 & 12 mtrs away from the nearest feeder, some days, and it can often days on the run and usually during sunnier warmer weather, many regular visitors are not to be seen. It may also be they are finding a natural food source, particularly if the weather has been good. Once the weather turns again, they could return knowing it is a guaranteed food source.

Keep the feeders sensibly supplied with food, and clean to reduce the risk of spreading infection, and it may be worth only keeping the feeders half full during the quiet periods, and once things get busy again, fill them up. The birds will return in seconds once you've gone back in to the house.