Trichomonosis

Hello. I'm new to this comminity and generally to garden bird feeding and, like many, discovered the joys of birding feeding over the last 15 months. I also joined the RSPB last year. However I am very much a naive, novice and sadly, ignorant enthusiast. 

TRICHOMONOSIS URGENT HELP PLEASE.

Im very sad and devastated to have found Trichomonosis in both house sparrows and chaffinch in my garden. Please could anyone offer me extra advice on this awful disease which appeared in my garden 6 days ago.

I have been feeding the birds for 18 months with 3 seed feeders, a table and peanut feeder. They were washed every 2 weeks but not moved in location.  I have a large rural garden with natural hedges on all 4 sides and fields surround our immediate vicinity. We have several nest boxes around the garden with about half now being occupied by sparrows, blue tits and robin. The hedges are full of sparrows. 

On the advice of the RSPB help service, I removed all my feeders and bird bath. I do still have a wildlife pond. I had hoped the birds would disperse within a day or two, but I'm continuing to see dozens of very hungry sparrows, tits and chaffinch mainly, searching my garden all day for food. The nest box females call and call out of the hole all day to be fed. The Robin's fly straight over to me every time I go out in the hope of being fed. I have a pair of bemused and hungry greater spotted woodpeckers who are scratching around the ground below where the peanuts used to be. They spend a huge amount of time searching instead of flying off to find another food source. 

The goldfinches and siskins disappeared very quickly to find new food sources but I think the remainder of the birds have become so dependent they are unwilling to give up.