Hi - new to forum, but not new to Bird watching

Hello,

I have only just found this forum, despite using the RSPB website for many years for my bird identification etc.

I've been birdwatching on and off since I was 4 (so 30 years ago lol) and have always had a passion not just for birds, but for all wildlife, be it furry, feathery, scaly, creepy, slimy, whatever lol.

I'm a Wild Learning Officer with the Wildlife Trust in Northampton and have been since August 2019, although I've been a volunteer with them since July 2018 and I love it there. 

I love the RSPB reserve in Sandy, and before lockdown no 1 last year, I used to go regularly as I could and have definitely fallen in love with the place.

I have yet to visit other RSPB reserves - maybe after all of the pandemic is over and I've passed my driving test I will get to see them all over the UK. I have already got my Big Garden Bird Watch Pack and I have done this survey for several years now.

One of the reasons why I came on here today was to say that I've just had a real highlight of my day - I saw a Marsh Tit on my bird feeder!! I didn't manage to get a photo of it as it flew off as soon as it had picked up a couple of seeds, but it was definitely a Marsh Tit and it was confirmed both by my Dad, who got me into bird watching and also a fellow lover of wildlife himself, and a look at the ID Page on the RSPB website definitely confirmed my sighting!! So, a very happy lady sitting here right now ;-D

Looking forward to having a look around the forum and seeing what people have found.

Take care.

Mweekie

• Hi Mweekie and welcome to the Community from Berkshire. It's good to have someone on here who works for a conservation organisation.
    I don't get Marsh Tits where I live and the only time I see them is when I visit relatives in Gloucestershire where they do come to feeders. A nice sighting for you.
    Enjoy the chat and feel free to share any photos you may get.