Hello and long-tailed tits!

Just wanted to drop by and say "Hello" I am a very amateur bird watcher,with  love of all wild life, I live in Belfast Northern Ireland and I think like many watching my birds on our feeders has been a pleasure and God sent through lock down.

I am one of the few people who absolutely love the corvid family of birds and have two Magpies  that come when called to be fed, unlike many I think mine do a lot to protect the song birds nesting as they alarm call and chase off cats and other predators and very aggressively during nesting season.

I am in a very urban setting right next to train tracks. 

I do have a question, I always see a flock of long tailed tits flying past my garden they often land in the tree but never come down to the feeders or table, I have a mix of seeds, nuts and meal worms live and dried sometimes locusts ( we keep reptiles) often other scraps cheese, fruit etc , have a traditional bird feeder and a large table  and scatter feed too, but the long tailed tits never stop to feed how can I encourage them in to the garden.? 

Thank you and sorry for the long post, look forward to speaking with you all.

• Hi Cian and welcome to the forum
    Like you I love me garden visitors and train tracks not to far from my house either .
    I get lots of different visitors including LTTs or as we call them lollipops.

They tend to land and feed on suet blocks in my garden if thats of any help to you.

Hope you enjoy the forum as there are lots of very lovely and helpful people on here.
  • Hi Cian, and welcome :o)
    I agree with Linda, the LTT's we got at our old house loved suet, but I didn't do slabs, I did the nuggets, and a couple of our blackbirds learnt to feed from that feeder too. Always lovely to see them :o)