Blue Tit help / knowledge needed!

Hello there,

I'm very new to bird watching / caring. I live in London with a balcony so I am doing what I can to care for local birds. 

Luckily in front of my balcony I have a large communal garden with lots of trees and shrubs so do get a lot of different birds. In the spring / summer we had an influx of blue tits and fledglings! I immediately bought a bird feeder (attached to my balcony railings) and they fed every day on there, it's so close to my window so I was able to enjoy observing their hilarious behaviour! They really do have the best characters! 

Now winter is creeping in I only have one blue tit that comes to feed everyday at exactly the same time 8am, without fail they're there. They often use the feeder just to perch on and look around and it looks so relaxed! 

The temp is getting colder so I'd done some research as I was concerned that the bushes it usually shelters in are getting more bare so I've bought a roosting box! The side is fit for a blue tit and I've put good quality field hay inside. I've attached it on my balcony fence with a clear flight path, east facing and slightly sheltered. 

I guess my question for you guys is, when is it likely to use the box and what signs can I look out for to show that it may be noticing it or be interested? I have noticed it seems to be hanging on the bird feeder longer than usual which is located approximately a metre and a half away. 

Any help, guidance or general tips would be gratefully appreciated! 

Thank-you,

Charlotte :) 

• We have lots of blue tits and favourite food is sunflower hearts