Good Morning, Thank you for accepting me to join the forum .......

I have taken part in the Garden Birdwatch Weekend over the last few years and whilst I do not consider myself a dedicated watcher, I do enjoy seeing different birds both in my garden and out and about. I am finding it more and more infectious as I get older. I am a Gardener by trade and take interest in birds in other peoples gardens too and often find myself pausing from my work to watch their habits. I carry a Mobile phone as most people do and also take the opportunity if it should arise in taking photographs of my sightings.

As you can appreciate, with the current weather cycle, I am not very active in the garden, not on the gardening front at any rate. This morning, I was surprised to welcome (for the first time ever to my knowledge, we have lived at our home in Nottinghamshire for 36yrs) this 'Leucistic' I believe is the term, Goldfinch? We have seen a massive increase in Goldfinch visitors to our feeders over the years but never anything quite like this and I wanted to share my excitement. I have no idea how Common or Rare these birds are but was delighted to see this one in my garden. It hung around for 20mins or so, I don't know if it will return but was so pleased to have witnessed its visit.

• Welcome to the forum, Stewart. That's an interesting looking leucistic Goldie.
  • Welcome aboard Stewart, and what a fabulous picture for your first post Wink