Passionate newbie here!

I’ve recently developed a passion for birds and I want my kids to get involved too. What things should I do in my garden to invite more kinds of birds? We only had pigeons and blackbirds so far. 

• Hi Nesli and welcome to the Community. I think the more you watch birds the more you will appreciate what amazing creatures they are and the more you will understand their behaviour. Getting your kids involved can only be a good thing for the future of conservation.

I don't know what your garden is like but putting up a feeding station from which you can hang feeders is something you can do quickly. Sunflower hearts are popular with many bird including finches and tits are what most people would recommend. As the weather gets colder suet fat balls are a vital source of energy for many birds. I would recommend high quality suet balls. Avoid some of the cheaper garden centre products which contain fillers. Shop around for the best deals. Alternatively, for a cheaper solution you can make your own raw pastry from from lard and flour perhaps with some blitzed up sunflower hearts or peanuts.

In the longer term try planting some shrubs which produce red berries  (like cotoneaster or pyracantha). These can attracts thrushes in the winter.

I'm sure other people will have some good suggestions