Firecrest

Hi everyone,

Newbie here, bird lover of course. I have two centres of life where I’m privileged to see a wide variety of birds.  We live very close to a lake which is teaming with wonderful birds.   However, of interest  to me at the moment is something that I’ve seen at our stables in Hertfordshire.  

It is very rural, in the middle of farmland and a wide variety of trees and hedges and natural areas .  We have a small bank of trees  on the stable yard that comprise mainly firs and the plants on the bank are wild - nettles and whatever seasonal weeds/flowers pop up.  We have always had goldcrests living in these quite dense trees.   However on Friday while sitting quietly eating my lunch I saw two birds sweeping in and out of the nettles and back to a tree that I really think were Firecrests.  They were a similar size to a Goldcrest and making the same See see see call, but the top of both of their heads was a large bright orange stripe -   Very bright orange - nothing like the more narrow yellow stripe of a goldcrest.   They came out of the tree twice so I had a couple of opportunities to see them -  I was only about a metre and a half away.

Having had a little Google I understand that they are quite rare so I’m feeling quite excited about this!   Next time I am there on my own I will sit quietly and try and get photos but they do move so fast.  

Would love to hear from anyone who has better knowledge than me about them .

best 

Hh

• Hello Pennina and welcome to the community. How lovely for you to have the little Goldcrests and what does sound like the Firecrests, I think once I had a very quick fleeting glance of a Goldcrest. Photos would be great. Someone will be around to give you the statistics etc. Your place sounds nice. Enjoy being here.

• Hi Pennina,