Siberian Jay Buckinghamshire?

I caught sight a bird flying over my garden this morning which I'm struggling to identify . Viewed from underneath and the rear, its breast was buff but most distinct was its orange/rust rump. Could it be a Siberian Jay? There are birch woods around here , but less conifers. I can't see anything else similar in my Wildlife Trust Birds Of Britain & Europe.

• Hi Kelvyn, It's very difficult to say what your bird could have been without even a poor photo to go by. I can only have a wild guess with your description and woodland area that possibility could be a Common Redstart which has an orange/rust rump/tail area. I think Siberian Jay would be an extremely rare find here but as I'm not an expert I'll leave it to others who may be able to hazard a guess.
  • Thanks Hazy. Common Redstart would be more likely, although my impression was a larger bird and flying at speed in a straight line not undulating. I've not seen a Common Redstart before so can't say whether all of my description fits. Shame I wasn't able to take a photo.
  • Sorry I can't be of more help, it's awfully difficult to come up with a conclusive ID without photo evidence and we have some great experts on here who can nail an ID even with a blurry photo - I'm not one of them !! Sounds like you have a lovely area with woodland where you live which will attract all sorts of bird species so hope you see this one again and have your mobile photo camera ready !

• Hi Kelvyn,

I have to agree with Hazel that a Siberian Jay is extremely unlikely. As far as I'm aware one has never been recorded in the UK.

I saw them in Finland about 8 years ago. They are a little smaller than our Eurasian Jay. The photos below are not the best as they were back-lit.

With the red under-tail I can see why you might have thought of Siberian Jay.